Love is patient, love is kind. Love does not envy, is not jealous, does not boast, is not prideful, keeps no record of wrongs, does not seek its own good, but the good of others. Love never fails. If I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have faith to move mountains and do all things, but have not love, I am nothing. And if I give all I possess to the poor, and deliver my body to be burned, but have not love, I profit nothing. Now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love.

 Misquote of 1 Cor.13

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

But do I love? Have I Love: hopeful, faithful, enduring? I have little faith, yet see myself with much. I give some of my possessions to the poor, and occasionally deliver my toast (never a part of myself) to be burned. I like to speak -often use my tongue- but my ears are not practiced enough to tell whether my words are musical or obnoxious. I rarely envy another or his possessions, unless they happen to be something I lack. I only keep track of the important stuff…like when a friend refuses to ask me a simple “Hey, is everything OK?” I am prideful enough to admit that I am. Is this for my good, or yours? “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength. This is the first and greatest commandment, and the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.'” – Matt. 22:37-39 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What is love? Is it perhaps the only way to get outside ourselves? The only lowly path to significance? The only Source of joy and Love being God?

 “God is Love.”                -1 John 4:16

” For God so loved the world, that he sent his only Son, that whoever believes in him has everlasting life.”                 -John 3:16

Yes, God loves me. But the problem seems to be that I do not love others. At least, not in the perfect Love that I should. Why am I always so willing to love for myself, not truly LOVE others? Love is not about ME. Love is about God, and, consequently, about others. The very notions of love as being about myself and what is best for ME, are deceptive and false. Me-centered Love is not love…it is egolove, a contradiction in terms. And should it be any surprise that this egolove gives nothing to the Self? In trying to save the Self, it causes the Self to be lost, hopelessly and terribly lost? Severing the Self from what it needs most, it prompts the Self to turn to others in an attempt to gain life again, but this still is not Love. It is another manifestation of egolove: the desire for others’ love in return for the Self’s love, the Self-seeking life fix. Love is about others: one can love oneself, but is that “love?” On our own, we are only capable of egolove; can anyone love, not egolove, without God? For, if a man desires to save his life, he must first lose it. And not to himself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 “When love becomes a god, it can become a demon too.”

                                                         -C.S. Lewis, on 1 John 4:16

