Listen...such an important verb. It is becoming less and less used, it seems. We use it, in the sense that we often speak the word and write or talk about listening (what an oxymoron!), but it seems that we rarely stop to listen. Not talk, just listen. To ask questions, then listen to their responses.

People rush around us, they shout, they whisper. Who hears them? Do we even hear ourselves? Do we ever hear God?

Of course, here I am doing exactly what I am questioning…blogs are basically formatted to allow a central author to elaborate on his or her ideas without listening…

But perhaps I can learn to be a better listener. Maybe I will finally realize the wisdom of James and apply his instruction “…be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to become angry (James 1:19)”. I think it is about time that I began to listen more actively to God, then to people…

“Listen a hundred times; ponder a thousand times; speak once.”

-Turkish proverb

Slow down,

listen to God,

listen to others,

listen to the stillness,

and listen for a song………………….

